Bed Breakfast Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.1
 Food / Dining  3.5
 Total  4.2

"King Tut Perfekt"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Manuela W. of Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed:   January 19, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Das team jederzeit bereit alle arten von fragen zu beantworten, sie sind alle unheimlich lieb und zuvorkommend. Bin viel gereist doch soviel freundlichkeit habe ich selten erlebt. Die zimmer sind einfach doch sehr sauber, das frühstück ist gut. Ansonsten ich kann dieses Hostel nur wärmstens empfehlen.

"Acceptable Accommodation"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Peter R. of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed:   March 14, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed a week at King Tut Hostel. After the first night, owner told me that he would not accept the price for each night agreed via this website. Though a showed him a printout of our agreement, he told me to leave the hostel instead of insisting on this low price. The owner told me that I had an agreement with this website, not with him. Thus, a new agreement was necessary in his eyes. When I threatened to inform the tourism police, he told me that he was not afraid of them and didn't change his mind. Finally, to avoid problems, we agreed on a compromise (that was a moderately higher price than agreed first).

Apart from this story (the first time in 50 trips worldwide that someone broke a price agreement), the rest was not to bad. The bedroom was rather small, as you could hardy walk around your bed. The blanket had never ever been washed and thus was quite dirty.

All the rest was above the standard you will expect in such a hostel: The toilet was working, the shower offered hot and cold water with a sufficient flow. The staff was rather friendly, inspite of the discussion at the beginning of our stay.

"Value for money!"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Heiko J. of Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed:   February 13, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A very good alternative to high class hotel. Smal hostel in center of city. In the middle of life! Very good location. Friendly people. WLAN for free (this service is not normal in Egypt-Hotels). I felt safe. I can recommend king tut.

"Great location"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Gerard D. of Delft, Netherlands
Reviewed:   January 20, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed here for one night - great location - room a bit cold in the winter. To top that a cold shower in the morning. Place looks great - good eye for detail in the lobby and the breakfast room (room a lot better than the breakfast itself)
Clean room (no filthy carpet!!!!!) and clean bathroom - very friendly owner that got us a cheap taxi to the airport

"everrything okay"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Rianne L. of The Hague, Netherlands
Reviewed:   February 19, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We didn't stay at King Tut actually, but at the hostel one floor more up. The people were friendly, the rooms were fine. Even a hot shower!! Breakfast was minimal, but good. Served on the terrace. Good place to spend some nights.
The only thing is when other travellers leave at night, the noise is enourmeous. This is because of the doors slamming and the thin space between rooms.

"Could be better, but I give it a thumbs up"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Mitch L. of Portland, OR, United States
Reviewed:   November 5, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had booked to stay here for 5 days, paid, and was instantly talked into leaving the next day. The owner planned an amazing 10 day trip for me based on where I wanted to go, and what I wanted to see, but I felt a little cheated out of the next 4 nights I'd already paid for. The rooms were really clean though, and the Internet was free. The biggest down side is that there was very little community, so I didn't really meet anyone there.

"Live like a King !!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   John B. of Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 1, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have recently returned from a three week stay in Cairo. Having booked into the King Tut hostel before leaving the UK and with no prior knowledge of it, I was so very pleasantly surprised when I finally arrived at 4:20 in the morning.

The single room was fairly large, very clean and with a bed that was more comfortable than the one I have at home. The en-suite shower, WC and hand basin were spotless too.

The residents lounge was decorated to be like a tent with comfortable pouffés, low tables and breakfast was served here every morning. The only thing that was not entirely to my liking about the hostel was that the TV was always on in this room even though nobody was watching it as it made having a conversation more difficult.

Mr Atef the owner/manager was a mine on information on what to do and where to go. |He could book tours all over Egypt and in my time there I did not hear any complaint about these tours. In fact, generally the comments were on how well they had gone, how well they had been organized and how enjoyable they had been.

For my money, you could do no better than staying at the King Tut during your stay in Cairo. Let Atef fix your onward travels. Most of the people I met who were not first time travellers to Egypt were on their second or third stay at the King Tut Hostel and I, for one, shall certainly be back.

"Great tours!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Michelle H. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 15, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   June 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very noisey place being right in the heart of Cairo. Bring your earplugs to sleep here! The organised tours from this hostel are the best and a good price. No chance of bringing your egyptian boyfriend here though. The married owner with an american girlfriend (the only girlfriend out of his marriage i know of) wont let you book your single muslim man with no wife into your room! Talk about double standards!!! He said some shit about the tourist police but i have since learnt that they have no powers to charge because no laws are broken. It's the case with alot of muslim people, do as i say and not as i do!!!


1 - 8 of 8 reviews




BedBreakfastReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us